Belize: A Travel Diary

tumblr_n7yhxj9vQj1r1a5igo1_500

This past May, I visited Belize, my mother’s home country, for the first time in over 20 years.

The last time I visited, it was an absolute disaster. I was three years old and went so I could be a flower girl in my Aunt Sue’s wedding. But I ate a bad popsicle, fell sick with dysentery, and was nearly kidnapped by a woman in the hospital—I’m not even kidding! For these reasons and more, I hadn’t been back since…until last month. After a bitter breakup, I looked up flights to the warmest, most inviting place I could find, called my Aunt Sue, and decided that Belize deserved another try. Here is my travel diary from that week.

(Read more at Rookie Mag)

Leave a Reply

